Honorary Members


ITIA Honorary Members


Eileen Battersby

Eileen Battersby, ITIA Honorary Member 2016

Literary correspondent of the Irish Times and champion of literature translated into English.
2014 Lorraine Leeson
Lorraine Leeson, ITIA Honorary Member 2014
Professor at Trinity College Dublin, head of Centre for Deaf Studies, Deaf Studies scholar.
2013 Edith Grossman Edith Grossmann ITIA Honorary Member 2013 Spanish-English translator of, among others, Miguel de Cervantes, Gabriel García Márquez, Mario Vargas Llosa and Carlos Fuentes.

Giuliana Zeuli

Giuliana Zeuli ITIA Honorary Member 2013

Translator of Roddy Doyle, Catherine Dunne, Bernard MacLaverty and Irvine Welsh, former chairperson of the ITIA executive committee.

Frank Wynne

Frank Wynne ITIA Honorary Member 1012

French-English and Spanish-English translator of Michel Houellebecq, Boualem Sansal and Alonso Cueto.
2011 Monsignor Pádraig Ó Fiannachta († 2016)

picture of Padraig o'Fionnachta

Translator and editor of Irish translation of the Bible in Irish published in 1982.
2007 Michael Cronin Professor at Dublin City University, member of the Royal Irish Academy, Translation Studies scholar.
2006 Cormac Ó Cuilleanáin

Professor of Italian at Trinity College Dublin, translator of the Decameron into English, founding member of the ITIA.
2005 Máire Nic Mhaoláin
Maire Nic Mhaolain, ITIA Honorary Member 2005
Translator of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and other works into Irish, former chairperson of the ITIA.
2004 Jin Di (d. 2008)
Jin Di, ITIA Honorary Member 2008
Translator into Chinese of Ulysses by James Joyce.
2003 Ciaran Carsonphoto of ciaran carson Translator of Dante’s Inferno.
2003 Hans-Christian Oeserpicture of hans-christian oeser Translator into German of works by Paul Muldoon, Scott Fitzgerald, Maeve Brennan.
2002 Seán Mac Mathghamhna († 2008) Translator of poetry into Irish.
2002 Nicholas J.A. Williams, Translator of the New Testament from Greek to Cornish.
2001 Helen Campbell

Conference interpreter and interpreter trainer at the Directorate General for Interpretation at the European Commission.
2000 Seamus Heaney († 2013)

picture of Seamus Heaney

Translator of Beowulf: A New Translation.
2000 Micheál Ó Cearúil Translator from English to Irish.
1999 Máire Mhac an tSaoi

Poet and translator from Middle to Modern Irish.
1999 William Weaver († 2013)

Picture of William Weaver

Translator of Umberto Eco, Primo Levi and Italo Calvino.
1997 Lar Cassidy († 1997) Member of Arts Council, supporter of translation of poetry.
1994 Agnes Bernelle († 1999)

Picture of Agnes Bernelle

Actress, singer, translator of songs by Brecht and Weill into English.
1994 Rosangela Barone Translator of Irish works (in English and Irish) into Italian.
1992 Gabriel Rosenstock

picture of rosenstock

Poet and translator from Irish to English.
1992 Brian Gormley One of the first translators to work in localisation.
1991 John F. Deane

Picture of John F Deane

Founding member of the Irish Translators’ Association, poet and translator of poetry.